Welcome to the world of Saab ! Register
    Saab Fan
    Saab(s)
    '05 9-5t.

Unhappy Squeaking noise from front brakes and hard shifting transmission

hi fellow SAAB owners and enthusiasts,
    I brought a 2005 95, 2 weeks back. I am pretty new to SAAB and found this forum helpful. I have few concerns about my car and if you could clear them, it will be very helpful. here they are:
    1.) A squeaking noise comes form the front rotors, the rotors and brake pads are new, the noise increases while i turn.

2.) when I drive for a while (like say 10 mins). The gear shift becomes harder and when i go from P to R or P to D, I feel a big jerk (like someone has hit me from behind). I looked at the trans fluid and it looks pretty bad. So, I took it to a mechanic for trans flush. I ordered the 3309 trans fluid online and he just used 7 out of 12 quarts of the fluid to flush. Even after the flush it feels the same. Now i took it to a different mechanic and he said the trans needs to be rebuild. Is it common to rebuild these transmissions?

thank you,
    Last edited by nordwulf; 01 July 2011 at 15:56. Reason: Adjusted thread title for better description

Mike
    Saab(s)
    Saab-less
    The transmissions of these things are quite reliable; how many miles are on your car?

The squeaking could be a ball joint. If you've got a friend (and it makes the noise when stationary), have him sit in the car and keep turning the steering wheel until you can find where the noise is coming from.
    Free SaabWorld Stickers
    "Sometimes it is better to travel than it is to arrive." - Robert Pirsig

Scott Hutchings
    Too much to do, no time! SaabScott's Avatar
    Saab(s)
    2009 9-7X 5.3i
    A 2005 9-5 is a very reliable and robust car.
    I have one and it is very close to rolling 200,000 miles!

I'd be surprised if the transmission (especially an auto) needed to be rebuilt.