Welcome to the world of Saab ! Register
    Saab Fan
    Saab(s)
    2001 9-5 Wagon 2.3T

Heater core leak suspected, opinions please!

I started off with the "coolant dump" thread but from my further research and observations, it is looking more like a heater core leak to me now so I'm starting a new thread distinct from the coolant bypass valve topic from the original thread.

BTW, i tried to post this same message in the Saabcentral forum (just discovered these forums a week ago, I'm new to this) just now but I keep getting the "awaiting moderation" message, that's 3 out of 4 posts I put there. Can't be sure that my message will get aired at all over there so copying and pasting here, hoping to get more attention here.

Do bear with me for being long winded for most people's attention span but I want to be clear about it:

It's a long story that started with a coolant leak that got progressively worse to the point where the coolant literally drains.

I looked around on the internet and decided that the coolant/heater bypass valve was the culprit and replaced it, that was last weekend. No more coolant leaking from the bulk head but this did not solve my coolant dump problem.

I looked around on the internet some more and am inclined to think that the problem comes from either the heater core leaking or the o-rings connections to the heater core leaking. As I find no conclusive and definitive problem/how to solution on this on the internet, I thought I'd get your opinion on this before dismantling the center console to look for leaks. Here are the symptoms I have right now after the CBV fix and have had since December:

1. When I pour coolant down the expansion tank, a fair amount of it comes straight out through the drain holes in the undercarriage, mostly on the passenger side (RH), some from the LHS. I see no leaks or drips coming from the bulkhead.