Welcome to the world of Saab ! Register
    Paul K.
    Saab(s)
    1990 Saab 900 Turbo Convertible

"Red Box" - NOT the DVD thing...

I'm a Noob so I need some assistance understanding what an APC "Red Box" is. Is it a big deal? Is it something to look for? Is it something that should be done? Is it expensive to obtain and costly to install? Is it at all worth it?

Elsa's previous owner stated he had one in a different car, and was able to reach quite high top speeds; he was an older guy and liked SAABs, so I'm figuring he wasn't likely blowing smoke.

I'd love to hear what people think.

Thanks.

Renato Piereck
    Spreading the Saab virus rpiereck's Avatar
    Saab(s)
    '00 9-5 Aero SC, 87 900i 8v
    The APC Red Box is basically an ECU reflash for more power, much like you would buy from a tuner. It's just that the factory painted them red and they were a factory part. It basically allows for higher boost levels, hence more power, to be reached.

I believe the genuine SAAB Red Boxes are quite rare and coveted items, hence expensive. I don't know how much you would pay for one. Some companies like Swedish Dynamics sell their own reflashed ECUs that supposedly allow for even higher power than the factory Red Box: Red Series APC
    Now: '00 Saab 9-5 Aero Combi - '89 Peugeot 205 CTI - '91 Peugeot 309 GTI
    Gone: '87 Saab 900i - '95 Saab 900 SE Turbo

Paul A
    Saab Nut
    Saab(s)
    T16 '93 Ruby - T16 '94 Vert Ruby
    Quote Originally Posted by rpiereck View Post
    The APC Red Box is basically an ECU reflash for more power, much like you would buy from a tuner. It's just that the factory painted them red and they were a factory part. It basically allows for higher boost levels, hence more power, to be reached.