Welcome to the world of Saab ! Register
    Saab Fan
    Saab(s)
    2001 9-5 Eco 2l, 2002 9-5 Aero

OLD (MAN) SAAB LOVER - NEW TO THE FORUM

[FONT=comic sans ms]I'd like to say hello to you all, having just joined the forum and here goes with 'war and peace':

I've been driving 9-5 Estates for the past 10 years now (over 300,000 miles collectively!) having bought my first almost by accident.

I'm currently driving a 2001 Model Year 2L, which I got for less than £200 (yes, I'm British) thanks to eBay. It needed a new head gasket (the head was more than slightly bent) which I did myself and repaired or replaced just about everything cosmetic (both door mirrors, centre arm rest, dash louvres, SID, seatbelt surrounds, door trim, carpet clips, etc, etc, even the sun blind had been snapped through the metal hanger! I guess the previous owner - a very tidy blonde lady - was either a covert female wrestler who practiced in the car or she used it to transport bears!

It has now developed a very noisy rattle (which I am pretty sure is the timing chain slapping the casing) after 6000miles. When I did the head I also cleaned the sump strainer, did the proper Loctite-581 remount of the sump, used only Mobil 1 (and changed it after the first HUNDRED miles). Post head repair it sounded sweet for most of the 6000miles, now it sounds much like a diesel (whatever they are). I've checked the tensioner (such a nicely accessible service item), which seemed to be out almost to its limit, so guess the guide may be failing? Watch out for future posts when I come to address that issue.

I've also got an Aero that I got as a project and have already posted about the issues with that!

This forum seems to be populated by a smart, witty and knowledgeable community and I look forward to getting to know some of you, as I get to know (and share) more about my Saabs.

Hal
    [/FONT]
    [FONT=comic sans ms]
    [/FONT]

Renato Piereck
    Spreading the Saab virus rpiereck's Avatar
    Saab(s)