Welcome to the world of Saab ! Register

Saab(s)
    2004 SAAB 9-5 ARC 2.3T

Transmission flush

I am new to Saab and I have a 9-5 arc 2.3t I know at 60k miles its supposed to get a transmission flush. I would love to have the pressurized flush but I'm having trouble finding a shop that can do it. I used to b a mechanic and I know how to flush it without the machine but wit kind of transmission fluid does my model use and how much should I put in it while doing the flush manually.

Jeffrey
    Master SaabTech/Moderator Burnsside42's Avatar
    Saab(s)
    - 86' 9KT - 95' 9K Custom CS - 06' 9-3 Combi - 07' 9-7X Arc - 08' 9-3 Convertible - 08' 9-3 TurboX -
    Regular old fashion ATF or Dexron 6 works.

The method w/out the machine I've done is @ operating temp drain/fill - drive a few miles til hot - drain/fill. Repeat about 4x's and you'll have about a complete flush. 4 QTS each drain and fill. I recommend a new trans drain seal on the last drain and fill. Drain bolt is a 24mm. Do not go crazy snugging the bolt. Snug and that's it.

Fred Beans Cadillac/Buick/GMC/SAAB (me) have the BG Transmission Flush machine and service available. It takes about 16QTS of ATF and works in one shot when hot.

Also - check your cooler seals @ the radiator. They like to loosen and leak. 19mm - top and bottom.
    European Motor Services, LLC - Point Pleasant, PA 18950 - www.europeanmotorsvc.com

Frank
    Saab(s)
    previous: 2006 9-3, 2001-06 9-5, 2011 9-4X
    Quote Originally Posted by Burnsside42 View Post
    Regular old fashion ATF or Dexron 6 works.
    I hate to disagree with you but.. Saab specifies Saab 3309 which is the same as Mobil 3309 and Toyota T-IV. Dexron was for the older 4-speed transmissions.

Always use mineral ATF, never synthetic.

This may be of help: http://saabworld.net/f29/saab-9-5-au...2-3t-2-3t-474/

Jeffrey
    Master SaabTech/Moderator Burnsside42's Avatar
    Saab(s)