Welcome to the world of Saab ! Register
    Saab(s)
    2001 9-5 Wagon 2.3T I4 (B235E)

Thumbs up New 2001 9-5 Wagon Owner in Seattle

Hi. As the tittle says, I am a new 2001 Saab 9-5 Wagon owner (113k mi). My last car was a 1993 Toyota wagon that I had well over 250k on before I gifted it to someone. I did most of my own work, aside from very large and complicated projects as I have no lift or garage. I am not a pro mechanic so my wrenching is done on the weekends like many of you. Ramps and a jack.

I'm learning new things about the car all the time, and have a very trustworthy Saab mechanic in Seattle ( Moe's Automotive ) who went through everything, so I also asked him to change the oil just so we were starting from a fresh full-synthetic base. He also got me a couple of keys cut and programmed with the tech2 (thanks Kenny!). I highly recommend Moe's if you're a Saab owner in Seattle. I took a couple of cars to him for pre-inspection and he saved me some big headaches.

In any event, there are a number of questions I have about the car, as well as things I am planning on doing. I am hoping to get 200k+ out of it and am just using it for city driving and the occasional day trip. If there are other Seattle Saab owners who want to collaborate on repairs or mods, I'm happy to team up. I've really learned a lot from the great FAQs and well-organized and documented tutorials here, but I am still unclear on a few things. So, I'll list my Saab needs, wants, and top questions:

NEEDS
    Chilton's Manual (The books seem to be for the UK with the driver's side being switched, so should I get the service DVD from ebay?)
    A/C Recharge (going to go behind passenger headlamp)

WANTS
    A/C Distributor motors or control arms (L/R) (which do i need?)
    Rear windshield wiper (motor works, but arm is broken off. Where is it squirting? Front squirts OK)
    **New DI Cassette & Plugs (before needed)