Welcome to the world of Saab ! Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Saab Fan
    Saab(s)
    1999 Saab 9-5 2.3t manual

Timing chain replacement

Hey guys, I was thinking about replacing the timing chain in my 1999 9-5 (2.3l). I was wondering if anyone has a tutorial on how should that replacement be performed. I'd also like to know what else needs to be changed when the timing chain is changed.

Thanks,
    Dan

Frank
    Saab(s)
    previous: 2006 9-3, 2001-06 9-5, 2011 9-4X
    Instructions from the WIS can be found here: http://saabworld.net/f29/timing-chai...aab-9-5-a-757/

eEuroparts sells a kit with everything that is needed so that is probably the easiest: 93184480 Genuine SAAB - Timing and Balance Kit - Free Shipping

Saab Fan
    Saab(s)
    1999 Saab 9-5 2.3t manual
    Hi Frank. Thanks for quick reply. I will definitely use the eeuro part timing and balance kit, but WIS instructions don't really make things clear. Since I am a beginner, I would need step-by-step instructions in order to do this on my own. I was looking through various YouTube videos, and I actually found one (changing the balance chain) but it was done with the engine already out of the car. So if I need to take the engine out in order to change both chains and everything else, I'd need to see how to take the engine, and then how to access the chains.

Saab(s)
    01 95 Aero and Wagon, 09 93 Combi and an 08 95 Combi
    You can do it in the car, but not as a beginner. It takes a lot of prior knowledge to do it right.

Mathieu Verberne
    Saab Fan
    Saab(s)
    9-5
    I would also not recommend changing the timing chain as a beginner. Start by doing this with a experienced mechanic.