Welcome to the world of Saab ! Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Saab Fan
    Saab(s)
    9-3

9-3 Convertible seat help requested

Hello,

I'm a custom car builder working on a 1948 Chevrolet street rod. I have power seats from a 2004 9-3 convertible that I'd like to use in this car. I have been unable to get them to operate properly and I'm looking for suggestions.

These seats have memory and heat as well as power operation. I've been told that they need the signal from the -bus in order for them to work properly. I'd like to make them work without that if possible. Alternately, I'll look at a way to provide the I-bus signal to the seats. To do this I'm considering purchasing a DDM (driver door module) to see if that will provide the proper signal.

I applied power to the main power and ground leads and the seat operates forward and backward, but not tilt or up/down. This tells me that power is getting through the control module to the motors, but I have not been able to determine why only the forward/back works.

I have the wiring diagrams for the seats but I'll admit I'm no electric schematic expert. I suspect there may be a way I can bypass the control module and simply supply power to the switches. I would lose the memory function but that would be OK. When I recover the seats I'll cover over that spot in the seat.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Saab(s)
    2009 9-3 2.0T SC Aero XWD\eLSD. eSID2
    Hi,

At the moment don't I have any firm suggestions, however could a description of which terminals/pins the power and ground leads were connected to, providing the forward and backward operation, materialize an idea.

The challenge is, as you are well aware of, the missing signal from the ICM to the Driver's Seat Module (DSM), on the I-bus. The signal is pulse based (33 kbits/s), and as such not an easy task to duplicate - or cheat.