Welcome to the world of Saab ! Register
    Saab Fan
    Saab(s)
    2003 9-5

9-5 idles rough & smokes a little after half hour of driving

I just purchased a 2003 Saab 9-5 (2.3L) cheap, but had to buy it sight unseen because of its location. The Previous Owner (PO) said it started fine but then idled low and rough, and sometimes would not restart easily after warming up. He said it always started easily when cold. Prior to purchase, I had a mechanic go out and check the compression, and he reported it at 180 on all 4 cylinders. He listened to it run, and said it sounded great mechanically. He said he had to run it about 45 minutes (not driving, just running) before it started running rough. Both the PO and mechanic reported the check engine light to be on. Neither the PO nor the mechanic had the means to check the codes.

On that basis, I suspected a crankshaft position sensor going bad when hot, or other electrical problem. I am new to Saabs, but a competent diagnostician and mechanic, and it was so cheap I thought I'd take a chance. (I understand the risk I was taking was pretty significant, but again, it was so cheap there really wasn't much downside.)

The car has 86k miles, but the PO has said the engine was swapped out with a used engine in the past 6 months, and not driven much since. He thinks the turbo was rebuilt, but is not sure. The mileage of the used engine is unknown. It is also not certain whether the turbo on it is from the original engine or came with the used engine. I did get a spare turbo with the car, but it is toast. I'm not sure I'm getting the whole story from the PO.