Welcome to the world of Saab ! Register
    John Mackinnon
    Saab Fan
    Saab(s)
    2007 9-3 Aero #6

thinking of buying a 97X before next winter...any recommendations

Seemingly very reasonably priced at the moment, 10K for a vehicle that was 55K. Anyone recommend powerplant...The 4.2 six has good ratings and I will not be hauling anything too heavy. Are there better years than others...Let me know...Just can"t quit SAABS...

Jeffrey
    Master SaabTech/Moderator Burnsside42's Avatar
    Saab(s)
    - 86' 9KT - 95' 9K Custom CS - 06' 9-3 Combi - 07' 9-7X Arc - 08' 9-3 Convertible - 08' 9-3 TurboX -
    I owned the 5.3i "ARC" 2006 9-7X with all options. Loved it. As a Saab tech I'd stay away from the 4.2i since they get WORSE fuel economy and can't do as much truck like things that the 9-7X is capable of with a V8. If you can find an Aero trim with the LS2 6.0 I'd snatch that up ;-) I bought my 2006 with 93K for about $8500 and had to replace the transfer case encoder motor, 4 tires and service the rear differential. I then fitted the Volant intake on it. All said and done after I sold the aftermarket 20" wheels and tires I had the car for about $9000 plus some. I hated the center console - squeaked and creaked all the time.
    European Motor Services, LLC - Point Pleasant, PA 18950 - www.europeanmotorsvc.com

Saab Fan
    Either the Coast or Mountains of North Carolina
    Saab(s)
    2011 9-4X Premium FWD