Welcome to the world of Saab ! Register

Saab(s)
    2002 9-5 Aero

R&R'ed water pump and now everything's gone to hell!

Oh, dear and wise SAAB warriors. I seek your help, as I am thoroughly stumped and dismayed.

Thanks you, in advance, for any time, attention, consideration, and suggestions. I'm a newbie to SAABs, but have loved this car in the year that I've owned it like no other car before.

Regards,
    Tom

NB: Am posting verbatim in other SAAB forums. Just a fair-use announcement!

Type: 2002 9-5 Aero, 92,000 miles

History:

• Temp gage NEVER (previously) left the blue at the very bottom.
    • Water pump began a progressively worsening leak.
    • Temp gage then rock steady at midpoint all the time now. I’d add water as needed.
    • Leak got worse (pump still fine, no noise). Engine temp spiked two or three times (but very quickly). Car in neutral, popped hood for ventilation, turned on interior heat, coasted, got off road, gage already returning to midpoint. Engine (top of crankcase/valve cover) never felt hot to touch. Added water and on my way, suspicious about temp gage (although last temp spike did prompt engine-check light).
    • Oil started slowly disappearing. I blamed the broken and loose oil dipstick cap, but some leakage noted from valve cover gasket and on block. Didn’t seem fresh though.

Repair:

• R&R’ed water pump with full kit from SAAB Central. Drained oil.
    • Never removed intake manifold
    • Replaced, filled with water for a leak test. Completed oil change with new filter. Double-checked all connections. PCV valve was noted to be disconnected AND broken (blew both ways). Replaced with new. Replaced dipstick and cap with new.
    • Go to start, and car *very* sluggish to start (a minute of cranking but catching)
    • Runs fine… but like a steam locomotive! Copious clouds of steam (condensed on hand, no oil smell, on rainbow in pail to collect exhaust) out of exhaust, never abated. Water even dripping from exhaust. Shut down.