Welcome to the world of Saab ! Register
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Saab Enthusiast
    Saab(s)
    2000 9-5 Aero Wagon, 2006 Saab 9-3 SportCombi Aero

Alternator out?

OK. 6 months ago I purchased my first Saab, a 2000 9-5 Aero wagon. I'm familiar with 65-2005 VW/Porsche/Audi and older British stuff like Sunbeam and Hillman but I'm new to Saabs. I've read a bit on the site, but nothing replaces hands on experience so, I have a question for those who have BTDT.

About 3 months ago I replaced the battery because, occasionally, I'd go to start up the car and the battery would be dead. I put this off to something funky going on with the stereo system because A) I might not have been turning it off properly or B) it's a weird system that turns itself on when I'm not in the car and to rectify that I'd need to find someone who has some obscure Swedish computer interface to reset something in a town that's primary transportation is dually Ford trucks.

After the new battery, all seemed well. For a few weeks, after shutting off the car, I'd wait the requisite few minutes to be sure the stereo didn't turn itself back on (and if it did, I'd shut it down).

A few weeks ago while returning loaned heaters to friends because I thought I had repaired my broke down, non-Saab, furnace, all the lights flickered on the dash, all power was gone, engine off, etc.

I towed the car home and put it on a charger. The next day I checked the battery and it was showing 12V. I started the car and checked the battery again, with the car running. and it showed 12V again. I assume that is should be 13.5+ so, again I assume, it's got to be the alternator. So, since I'm not in a situation to be able to crawl under and do a R&R, I leave it at that. Have to wait for better weather I guess.