Welcome to the world of Saab ! Register

Saab(s)
    1999 Saab 9-5 Wagon

Head gasket problems?

Hi all,

I have a 1999 9-5 Wagon, 2.3L 4 Cylinder, that I love driving and working on. I have begun to suspect that the head gasket has gone bad, and I’m prepared to learn how to replace that myself, but I’d like to be sure before I get all the way in there, especially given that I’m quite new at this and could be totally misdiagnosing the issue

Also, if it is the head gasket, what else should I think about replacing while I’m at it? (Feel free to point me to other threads if these topics are already covered). Thanks in advance!

Here’s my evidence:

1. A significant loss of coolant. The loss greatly fluctuates - sometimes it holds steady, sometimes it loses about 1 cup per 100 miles. I do have one known external leak that dumps about 1/2 cup very quickly every few weeks right when I stop driving... so that could be a large part of it

2. A significant loss of power when driving. I did run a compression test (dry, with the engine temp at normal running temp) and all cylinders are 182, 185, 185, 181

3. I checked the oil immediately after a recent drive and noticed a rust-colored sludge on the dipstick - not very much, but definitely noticeable and not something I had seen before.

4. Smoke coming from the exhaust pipe: my dad says it smells like coolant, but I haven’t been able to identify it

5. The spark plugs look good, but I couldn’t be sure if I smelled coolant on them...

6. I checked the codes on it yesterday, and got the following:
    > P0507: Idle control system RPM - higher than expected. Probably due to old leaky vacuum hoses? - I have one that I know is broken
    > P0502: Vehicle speed sensor “A” circuit low. Probably related to work I did on the front ABS sensor, replacing the mounting bracket...