Welcome to the world of Saab ! Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Saab Enthusiast
    Saab(s)
    2000 9-5 Aero Wagon, 2006 Saab 9-3 SportCombi Aero

CIM Question - 2006 9-3 Saab Aero Sportcombi

I just pulled a used CIM from a junkyard car (no key). I have Tech 2 and I'm working on getting TIS200 set up. (Would greatly appreciate info leading to the crack as all links I've been finding are dead ends). Can I marry the salvage CIM (after divorcing the existing CIM), and get the salvage CIM to accept the existing keys from the divorced CIM? I understand that the existing ECU has the key info stored on it. Will the used CIM allow its code to be overwritten by the existing ECU? I'm new to all this, go easy.
    Thanks for any guidance,
    Bryan

Saab(s)
    2006 9-3 2.0t SportCombi
    Hey Bryan,
    The ECU does have key info stored, unfortunately so does your used CIM and you have about a snow balls chance of adding a used CIM without the registered fob to your car. Not that it can't be done, but you need more than a Tech 2 to make your used CIM forget its old fob. Before you start ripping things apart get TIS working and clean up the BUS errors. In geek speak your 06 Saab is hybrid token ring star topography computer network. In simple English the computers can't have a good conversation when one loudmouth won't stop yacking.